Something For Fun & To Test New Ideas…

click to enlarge

I tend to shoot A LOT. If I don’t have any client work scheduled I will always try and stay busy. Sometimes these shoots are extensively planned, with a full team, and sometimes they are spur of the moment with just the model and I. This shoot with Jess was spur of the moment. I like these type of shoots. They allow me to try new things, whether it be lighting, composition, posing, etc. I don’t put any pressure on myself for these and if I only get a couple of good images I’m still happy. It’s all about the learning experience right? I hadn’t shot anything for myself for a while and Jess was eager to get in front of the camera as she hadn’t modelled for a couple of weeks.

click to enlarge

I wanted to try a few different lighting techniques and I wanted to get more time shooting in natural light. I have always been a flash user. I use flash outside all the time (and obviously in the studio) but I hadn’t been doing much work with natural light. So we did some studio and some location looks.

click to enlarge

Natural light (when used properly) can be extremely beautiful. It gives the images a completely different look and feel. I was greatly inspired by my good friend Billie Chiasson who shoots pretty well exclusively in natural light. If you take a minute to click on her name and view her work you’ll see why I was inspired by it, it’s just fantastic.

click to enlarge

I wasn’t the only one who wanted to work on things during this shoot. Jess wanted to work on some out of the box posing. Whats great about working with her is I have to give very little direction, and because she wanted to try out some new poses, I hardly directed at all. It’s really nice when both the photographer and model can work on a shoot and just let go.

click to enlarge

She is another model I work with who is extremely dedicated. She has true love for modelling and for fashion. We’ve shot together 4 or 5 times and I’ve gotten to see her grow as a model and its because of her dedication and love for the industry that she will be successful. She also writes a wonderful fashion blog that you can check out here.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

We shot these a couple of months ago, and like I said earlier, because these shoots are for me I’m not overly quick at getting them edited. Sometimes I get busy with client work or full on projects. What’s great is not feeling as much pressure to get the shots posted (and I VERY much appreciate the models’ patience when I do take a while).

click to enlarge

But I do have a few more of these types of shoots to come on the blog as well as some test shoots. I went on a bit of an editing marathon and got pretty well caught up, what a great feeling…Well, that’s enough talking for now. I hope you enjoy the images.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

Model: Jessica (City Models) hair and makeup by her.

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Something For Fun & To Test New Ideas…

  1. Great work, the model has very intense eyes – makes for interesting images!

Leave a Reply

