this image was taken with an iPhone 3Gs and edited using the Leme Cam app.

I’ve been thinking about how I can move my blog in different directions. While I greatly enjoy writing it, I think that perhaps I would post more frequently if I varied my conversation somewhat. But then, what do I vary it to, where do I go, how often is too often to post? So many options.

We all have extremely busy lives. To those people with kids, I tip my hat to you. How you are able to balance life & photography astounds me (while I say photography, it can pertain to any extremely time consuming career you have). I wonder how full time photographers, who have full families, find the time to work, edit, teach & create the way they do. There are also many part time photographers who do this as well, and that can be even more stressful. Add a full-time job into the mix and your head is spinning at 100kmh. One of the most common things you will hear from any photographer is they lack time. Wow, isn’t that the truth.

I started this blog not because I’m hoping millions of people will read it, or because I think I HAVE to have a blog as a photographer. I did so because I enjoy it. I enjoy sharing thoughts and ideas I have. To be honest, when I’m writing a post, I lose myself in it. It’s like when you sit down with a book and get very involved in the plot. You sometimes forget you’ve been sitting in the coffee shop for two hours reading & the clerk is staring at you with that “get the hell out” look. It’s relaxing & somewhat therapeutic, and that’s what writing this has become for me. If other people read it, enjoy it, and are able to take something away from it, all the better.

These are all thoughts that should apply to your work as a photographer. I sometimes find myself looking at other photographer’s work and then get discouraged about my own. While its difficult, I try not to judge yourself based on other’s work. You have to be doing the work that you enjoy. If yu see someone else’s work that you think trumps your own, then you need to push yourself to be better. You’re only as good as your last image. That is the approach I want to take with this blog. I want it to be better. I want it to diversify and be updated more frequently. Much like my portfolio.

Managing time can be one of the most difficult things we face as adults. If only there had been a “managing your time 101” class in school. You often hear parents or grandparents talk about how much faster life moves compared to when they were young… and it only speeds up the older we get. We live in an extremely fast-paced society, where everyone wants to move at the speed of light and they want everything now. I don’t know how many times I’ve had a client at work tell me they need their order “yesterday”. It feels as though if we don’t keep up with the rest of the crowd that we’ll be left behind. Like some archaic life form always trying to play catch up. You have to move at a pace that you are comfortable with but at the same time, know that if there are things you want to accomplish you will need to get out of that comfort zone from time to time and go above your speed limit.

There are so many things I want to accomplish. So many places I want to travel to. So many directions I want to take with my work, and that includes my blog. Look I’m sitting here talking about managing time and I’m writing the draft for this post at 1:30 in the morning. I have to be at work for 9:00. But that is the choice I make and to do everything I want to do, I sometimes: need to work when I should sleep, research when I should relax, or take on more than I should. I have come to that realization & I am quite comfortable with the speed I am traveling at.

I am also trying make sure to finish ideas I start. So I WILL post more frequently (need to be positive here). Sometimes you need to push yourself through lull’s & valleys, forcing yourself to work that extra little bit,  to move to the places you want to be.

*don’t forget to subscribe to the blog, on the right side, to be notified of new posts by email*


