Tags

,

click to enlarge

So I’ve done it again, I’ve been neglecting my blog. I have a good reason, I swear….. ok I’m going to stop right there. I always hate reading blogs where people apologize for not posting more often, or making excuses as to why they haven’t posted. After I posted my “Could we please add a few hours to each day??post I re-read it and was a little mad at myself for being one of those people. I have decided the blog will be what it is, and sometimes will see many posts, other times not so many. So with all that said, over the past few weeks I’ve put a new challenge on myself. I had been shooting a lot of portfolio work in an attempt to have the strongest portfolio possible to send to clients. I began to think of how I could challenge myself with these shoots and decided to try and work with a few people I hadn’t worked with before and also get a few shoots in with people who had never really done this before. My challenge with this was that I had no idea how these models worked before they came in, and when I’m doing commercial work that would often be the case. The challenge with working with someone who had never done it before is quite obvious. I would have to really direct and pose the model, and coach her how to move on her own.

click to enlarge

These images are from a shoot I did with Sarah, and this was her first time doing anything like this. She works as a hair stylist, which was an advantage as she was able to do her own hair. We had planned to do 2 looks for this and to shoot for a fair amount of time. I always plan to shoot a little longer with new people, so as to give them more time to become comfortable with me as well as with the process.

click to enlarge

Ok I’m going to be totally honest here: I have NEVER seen someone progress so quickly through a shoot. She caught on to everything so quickly and really got into the shoot. I don’t know if it was my direction or not, but she definitely has a skill that she never knew she had before.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

We ended up doing about 4 looks (including the beauty look) and as I was looking at the back of my camera throughout the shoot I was blown away. I couldn’t believe how quickly she had picked everything up and how well she was posing. By the end I was giving very little direction and she was doing most of the posing on her own.

click to enlarge

I really hope she decides to do this again, as I had a great time working with her and I think she has a real talent for it. While it isn’t often I work with people with no experience it is important to challenge myself and really hone my direction techniques. With that said, in the end, I didn’t have to do as much directing as I thought I would have to.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

I’m trying to always challenge myself in my photography and trying to hone the skills I have while always learning new ones. I think it’s very important to always be improving and moving forward, you’re only as good as your last image, and the next one should always be your best.

click to enlarge

There are many more images I could have used for the post and I was extremely happy with the results. I don’t want the blog posts to be an image overload so I kept it at what you see here, although you may see a few more from this shoot pop up on my website or my Facebook page.

Now it’s time to get back to editing the rest of the shoots, I’m really looking forward to sharing them.

*don’t forget to subscribe to the blog to be notified of new posts by email*

