Tags

, ,

click to enlarge

In an attempt to follow my own advice I have been trying to shoot as much as possible lately. Even if I’m not shooting paid work I’m still trying to book test shoots and concept shoots with new models. So over the past 2-3 weeks I’ve done roughly 8-10 shoots in various capacities. I photographed a friend of mine’s little one, who I am working on photographing all throughout his life (another little personal project). I did some maternity shots for my cousin roughly a week before she had her 3rd beautiful child. I did some images for a restaurant in town and have a shot of the owners that I am quite happy with. I did 6 model shoots, where the models varied greatly in experience & I just returned from shooting some headshots for a big shoot in 2 weeks. But what I did not realize, is that I was over-loading myself a bit. Not all of these shoots were paid shoots, and really they don’t pay the bills. Believe me I am constantly putting myself out there, but self-promoting takes ALOT of time. So with all the retouching that needs to be done for all those shoots I needed to prioritize for my business. I decided I would retouch the shoots in due time, but not try and rush anything out. Giving myself time to work on my business and self-promote & do some marketing. The images in this shoot are from a model test-shoot I did with Jessica. We had chatted for quite a while about doing a shoot, but I had to keep pulling the plug for various reasons. I am so happy we finally had the opportunity to work together, and I plan to work with her again in future projects I have in the works. 

click to enlarge

To be totally honest I was a little hesitant to work with her because of her age (she is quite young). But I had seen some of her work before and knew that she had real talent & a great look. These test shoots are done to see how the model and I work together as it’s always good to have a list of models handy when I’m working on submissions (which I am now working on). While I am aware that when I’m on a job that I will most likely be working with models I have never met, for my personal submission work I like to use models I’ve worked with in the past if possible.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

In these test shoots I’m not working in a common theme, or even going too extensive with my locations and hair and makeup. Because they are just that, a test. Jessica was a real pleasure to work with. She moves extremely well and was actually one of a few models I had worked with who really enjoyed shooting in the studio as well.

click to enlarge

She has a strong interest in fashion in general and has a true passion for modeling. Despite her age she is extremely mature and acts years ahead of where she actually is. We did a few studio looks and one location look as well. I always try and do both on a test shoot to get a better idea of the models comfort zone.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

There is a mixture of natural light and off camera light for the outdoor shots. For the off camera shots they were mostly one speedlight (or flashgun depending on where you’re from) bounced into an umbrella, above and to the side of the model, angled down. I look forward to sharing more of my recent work with you soon.

click to enlarge

*subscribe to the blog to be notified of new posts by email*

