Tags

, , ,

click to enlarge

A few weeks ago I was asked by a local restaurant to take a few photos for them. The owner called me on a Tuesday evening and told me about a call he had just received from the Food Network. They were looking into doing a piece on the restaurant and needed some images of the food and a few other shots of the restaurant. They were planning on doing the interview Thursday morning. Conveniently the restaurant is on the main floor of the same building as my studio, so it wasn’t like I had far to go to photograph it. The Tide and Boar Gastropub is located at 700 Main St. Needless to say I have eaten there quite a few times, all I have to do is walk down the stairs. The food is simply fantastic, I have dreams about their amazing boar poutine, and their drink menu is well varied with some items you can’t find anywhere else. They employ a top notch chef and it really shows in the variety of options they offer and quality of food that is served. I would not hesitate to say they have the best burger in town. I’m salivating just writing this while I think about it.

click to enlarge

I’m mainly a portrait photographer however I’m always open to dabbling in new realms. While this isn’t the first time I had done some food images, I wanted to be sure to have proper lighting. I was very happy with the portrait image and will be using it for my commercial portrait portfolio.

click to enlarge

Unfortunately the time we decided to do the shoot was not exactly at supper time so there weren’t a hoard of people sitting down to eat. This worked out well for the food shots. I had planned on taking the plates back up to my studio to photograph them under more controlled lighting but opted to use the brick in the restaurant, which gave more of a feel to the images that the owner was looking for. So my lighting came downstairs with me. I did a few exterior shots of their meat smoker, and also did a portrait of the owners next to it.

click to enlarge

They asked if I could get a few shots of people eating in there as well. I wanted to show the variety of people that the restaurant appeals to so I asked 1 family and a pair of younger women if they would mind being photographed. I told them what the images would be used for and they happily obliged.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

If you’re in or around Moncton be sure to check out the restaurant they have a great atmosphere in there, prime location, and not to mention a beautiful patio for warm summer days.

Follow them on Twitter: @TideandBoar

Like them on Facebook: Tide & Boar

*subscribe to the blog to be notified of new posts by email*

