Tags

, , , , , ,

click to enlarge

After I received the email from Wonderful Machine, which I wrote about in this blog post, I took a few days to think about the direction I wanted to be taking (to be honest, I think about it every day). I was in the midst of doing quite a few lighting tests, as I felt my lighting was & still is, always in need of improvement. I was ready to use that testing in a shoot. Mylene and I had been trying to do a shoot together for quite some time, however various things kept us from doing so. She had recently cut her hair short & died it a bright red-ish. If you’ve seen my work, you know I like having an element of colour, bright colour, in my images. We planned to do some beauty shots and also some images with more of a raw feeling to them.

click to enlarge

So basically, I want to update all 3 sections of my website. Have you been to my website lately? No? Well neither had I and honestly I thought I had newer work on there already. Whoops… I keep putting it aside, mostly because I didn’t make my site particularly easy to update. But these images will be on there soon, in the beauty section and perhaps 1 or 2 in the studio section.

click to enlarge

I was careful to really light the hair as to accent it and I used a bit of a harder light as the main light. I think what I used is called a parabolic reflector but I’m really not sure. I call it “the big silver dome with the white thing on the front”… can’t you just picture it?

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

I wanted to use  a bit of jewelry to add another element to the images. But I was careful not to add too much, I wanted it to be a subtle accent and not so much a punch in the face.

click to enlarge

I am fairly happy with most of the beauty shot on my site, but I wanted to have some new images with better light and a brighter look. I’m quite happy I went to a high key white for the backdrop for these. It really allows the accents to pop.

click to enlarge

After we did the beauty shots I wanted to do something with a bit more of raw emotion to them.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

For the model, I wanted her to be more aggresive with posing, not so soft. Sharper angles and sharper in the eyes. When I’m able to communicate what I’m thinking to the model and she gets it right from the start, it makes a world of difference. This is the 3rd or 4th time I’ve worked with Mylene and she continues to improve every time. I had to say very little to her during this shoot, as far as posing goes, as she now moves extremely well on her own.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

Being able to put the light tests to use in a shoot where I wasn’t the model was wonderful. Not just because I don’t have to be in the photos, but because it’s much easier to make adjustments when I’m behind the camera.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

I always have a blast shooting. Sometimes I wish I could just shoot and not edit. Although I don’t want to pay anyone to edit either because I’m too picky on my editing. I’ve started taking more images like the ones below and I think it shows another element in the shoot. These are the moments in between the images you usually see:

click to enlarge

Be sure to click on the images to see them in full size

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

