Tags

, , ,

click to enlarge

With most of my shoots from here on out I’m going to try and keep some sort of theme throughout.  All the styling in this shoot was done by Jessica, the model. Of course I would throw in my ideas from time to time but the looks are all her ideas. As a photographer it’s always great to work with people who are energetic and passionate about the shoot and Jessica is definitely one of those people. I’m really trying to visualize the shoots start to finish to see the flow of it all, before I shoot… I didn’t quite mean that to sound so zen, but you get what I mean… We shot 4 looks in total, with a few small additions to a few.

click to enlarge

I wanted to keep the lighting relatively the same throughout the shoot, giving it a bit more of a “look book” feel, showing the variations of the clothes.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

I wanted to be sure we had a good variation with the posing and with Jessica that was no problem at all. She is someone who is extremely interested in the industry. Constantly researching models, wardrobe, and posing not just to benefit her modelling but because she truly loves it.

click to enlarge

Sure I could have gone with the H&M approach… If you don’t know what I mean check it out here. Personally I think the versatility of a “human” model, from head to toe, is much more commercially appealing than some computer generated body. Unfortunately H&M doesn’t think so.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

Any items with fur in this shoot are not real fur. Only faux fur was used. Jessica told me it was faux or, honestly, I don’t think I would know the difference. While I’ve been doing this fashion work pretty seriously for the last 2-3 years, I’m still learning the particulars of the fashion itself.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

For the final look we went with a more simplistic look and added a few pieces to it as we went. I wanted to have the hair pulled back for this look to put the focus on the makeup and accessories. This was a really hard shoot to make image choices from. It’s frustrating sometimes when I have so many good frames to edit it down to the best images.

click to enlarge

I’m really trying not to over-shoot as the editing process becomes slightly over-whelming at that point. Anyone who has worked with me knows that I can just shoot forever, so it’s really been a challenge to shoot less. I’m not joking, I’ve done 6hr shoots in the past, which is just way too much shooting/images to choose from. I kind of messed up the lighting on the last look for some images, so that cut those ones out right away, making it a little easier.

click to enlarge

Selecting images has gotten easier as time goes on, somewhat. It’s always hard letting go of images, because honestly, I’ll probably never go back and edit them. The funny thing is my tastes will change over time so images I may not like today, I could love in a few years. Weird how that happens. Knowing how to select the best images from a shoot is a whole other skill in itself.

click to enlarge

Jessica wrote a nice blog post (read it here) on this shoot where she talks about the wardrobe choices and how they apply in modern fashion. Take some time to check out the rest of her blog, if you’re in to fashion, she has some great stuff on there.

Makeup by: Bonnie Dilag

Hair by: Joline Leblanc

