Tags

, , , , , ,

click to enlarge

You know when you plan something and put a ton of work into it? You see it coming out a certain way, you know how you want it to progress but you just don’t know how to get it there? Well, back in April, Sasha Onyshchenko and I shot a marathon shoot, 27 models in about 18-20hrs (read about it here & here). We had big plans for the images, we had people there who shot a ton of video, we knew what we wanted to do with everything. We just weren’t able to make it happen, and nothing is more frustrating than not being able to realize things as you see them.

click to enlarge

Sasha and I both posted our images at the same time and you can view his post here. I only posted one image from each shoot as that was the plan going in. I only wanted to shoot one look per model to try and get one great image from each shoot.

click to enlarge

I won’t go into detail about the shoot as I did that on a different blog post. I want to talk about how things have gone since that shoot. It has been over 8 months since we did the shoot and I’m posting the images for the first time. Why did it take him so long? That, my blog readers, is a damn good question.

click to enlarge

We had big plans for these images. We wanted to approach magazines or general publications and have them published. After a while though we just lost steam. Both Sasha and I became quite busy with other work and we just weren’t able to put the time into the marketing and promotion that we wanted to. The shoot itself was planned extremely well. We moved with precision that day because of months of planning and scheduling. The day of the shoot went off with a ton of success, except we forgot one thing…

click to enlarge

We didn’t plan time for promotion, editing, marketing, etc. We put all our effort into the shoot and didn’t leave the time or energy to do what we needed afterwards. I’ve had quite a few people ask me if I regret the shoot? HELL NO… It was an amazing experience. Would I do things different next time? Absolutely. There are a few things I would do differently as far as shooting goes, but there are A LOT of things I would do differently after the fact.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

It took about 50 people to make the shoot happen that day, unfortunately we thought that just the 2 of us could handle everything after the shoot. Boy were we wrong. In hindsight we should have looked for people to help us with the “after”. We were a bit over-zealous to think that we could handle all that ourselves. We had over 60hrs of video to go through, yes 60… and we aren’t video people. Duh…..

click to enlarge

Overall with the images I am quite happy, considering I shot them back in April. I feel like my lighting skills have improved quite a bit since then so there are things I see that I would have done differently if I shot it today. But overall, yes, I am quite happy with the results.

click to enlarge

It happens, far too often in life, that things don’t end up as we think they will. While that can at times be quite frustrating, personally, I think as long as we learn from those experiences all is not lost. It is how you change your ways and make adjustments so that it isn’t something that happens often. I learned a ton from this experience and take what I learned into every shoot I’ve done since.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

So will I be doing something like this again? Well, how nice of you to ask…

click to enlarge

I can’t speak for Sasha, but I will definitely be doing something like this again. I have already begun planning another one. How many people do you think I should shoot in a day this time? 50? 75? 100?

click to enlarge

I’m not trying to set any records here. I just want to right the wrongs I did in the last shoot and push myself more than I did last time. Also, shooting this many people all at once was a great way for me to learn to work under pressure, with time constraints. It was also a great way for me to hone my planning skills.

click to enlarge

I want to again thank EVERYONE who was involved in this project, and give my apologies about the delay in getting the images posted. I have no timetable for when I would like to do the next one, but if you would like to be involved (model, hair stylist, make-up artist, videographer, assistant) you can email production@denisduquette.ca with the subject line “marathon 2”.

Credits:

Makeup: Bonnie Dilag w/ Chelsea Hunter

Hair Stylists: Francine Benoit & Jennifer Duguay

Assistant: Amy Ross

Stylist: Sarah Duquette

Be sure to click on the images to see them in a larger size

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

