Tags

, , , , ,

self-portrait

January 3, 2011 was an interesting day for me. A year ago today I decided I wanted to start a blog. I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted that blog to be, I just knew I wanted to get myself out there more and that I wanted to start sharing more of my thoughts & work. I hadn’t really thought about it that much, it was kind of a spur of the moment decision. Within a few hours I had the blog all set-up and had my first post up (check it out here). It’s taken on a few different incarnations throughout the year, from more opinionated posts to posts about my shoots & work. So what will 2012 bring? Read-on my friends, read-on…

2011 overall has been a really positive year for me. I wanted to make my work more visible and really push myself to work towards a large body of work that I’m proud of. I was very fortunate to be able to meet and work with some fantastic people who have really helped push me forward. I finally feel like my work is starting to get to a point where I’m happier with my portfolio. The problem is that this will continually change. I’m sure in a year from now I’ll look back at the work I did a year ago and think it’s total garbage, but that’s all part of the process. I remember a customer at my part-time job asking me how long before they “knew it all”? They were of course talking about photography and the many, many different aspects of it there are to learn. I said: “when you’re dead, you’ll know it all, because you won’t be able to learn anymore”… a little harsh I know… I have been doing photography for over 10 years now and I learn something new everyday and I fully expect it to continue like that. That’s one of the many great things about photography, there is always something new, a new and better way to do something.

I recently received a “year in review” from WordPress about my blog. It was really interesting and humbling to see where some of my readers are from. I’ve had people from many different countries, from all over the world. I always want to write these people and ask them how they found me. I try not to check stats too often, but it is sometimes good to know what posts were well viewed and where people are linking from. I’ll post a few stats at the end of this post.

I want to thank all my readers for choosing my blog as one you read and check out from time to time. I have received very humbling comments and emails from some of you and I truly appreciate each and every one of them. I have a regular reader in NYC that I keep in touch with and we email back and forth, I’ll make it to visit you eventually! I love forming these friendships with people who I never would have been able to meet otherwise. That is one of the great things about being a portrait photographer, all the wonderful people I’m fortunate to meet, and my blog has taken that one step further.

I like the format for the blog right now, where I’m posting my shoots on it. I usually post a few preview shots on my Facebook Page, and then the rest of the shoot lands here. I do have some different posts in the works but I would always love to hear suggestions as to what you’d like to see me post about.

I told myself I wouldn’t get too wordy with this post, so I’ll try and wrap it up here for you guys…

I just want to thank everyone for all the support over this last year with my work. I look forward to sharing some new ideas I have for 2012 and various projects I have in the works. I have about 3 posts ready to go now, but I wanted to get this one up first. So expect quite a few posts to start off the year and a few different posts as I try out different ideas. I’m also planning some guest bloggers and I’m really excited to share other people’s work with you as well. After all, we’re all in this together aren’t we? But first things first I need to update my website, it’s been way too long.

I hope you make 2012 all that it can be for you and that you stay motivated and driven throughout the entire year & I plan to do the same…

Also don’t be shy to leave comments on the posts, I love the dialogue it creates.

A Few Stats of 2011

Post with the most views of 2011: An Attempt To Challenge Myself…

Top Referrer: Facebook

My day with the most views was December 20, 2011

My months with the most views were: December, September & July (in order of first to third)

Keep up with my work in these various places:

My Website

Twitter

Facebook

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

