Tags

, , , , , ,

click to enlarge

I shot these images just over 3 weeks ago. I had been editing quite a bit, getting client orders ready for the holidays and really needed a break from my monitor. You know those times where your eyes start to cross and colours don’t ever really look quite right? That’s where I was at. I also had really been wanting to shoot some natural light images, in the studio. I have pretty good light in there most of the day and I had never really taken advantage of that. Jenn works in the building next to me and she was able to come by on her lunch break for a quick shoot.

click to enlarge

I look at a lot of other photographers’ work. I like to look at different lighting techniques used and their style throughout their work. Lately, I’ve really been drawn to photographers who use natural light in quite a bit of their work. Namely: Lara Jade, Ryan Muirhead & Billie Chiasson.

click to enlarge

I really find it gives a different feel to the images, especially when I’m shooting pretty well wide open on my lens (blurring the background). It really evokes a different type of emotion than shooting with flash does. I’m not trying to get all philosophical or anything… it just has such a soft feeling.

click to enlarge

We shot for about 45 minutes or so she could make it back to work on time. Jenn and I have shot together many times before so I knew I would be able to try many different things.  I was able to play with lighting and exposure, as I hadn’t shot much in this style, and still get a really good selection of images.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

I’ve been shooting pretty well all my work with flash and I want to try and have good diversity in my portfolio. Technique wise, I’m really trying to explore different options. I did use a reflector for pretty well all the images, just to add a bit of fill and catchlights.

click to enlarge

I’m excited to do more shoots like this… of course I would get an itch for natural light when it’s winter… Not that it isn’t do-able, it just isn’t ideal for me. I find that as I get older, the more I dislike winter… I’m 28 and at this rate I will completely despise winter before I’m 35.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

