Tags

, , , , , , , ,

click to enlarge

I am completely engulfed in portfolio work right now but in my last post I had mentioned that I had done quite a bit of test shoots as well. This was the second one I had done, and decided to forgo hair and makeup. I figured this would give me a true “test” with the model. I ended up shooting the rest of my tests this way, based on how successful this one was. Jenna was someone who I wanted to photograph for quite a while but I wasn’t able to ask her the first time I met her, luckily our paths crossed again.

click to enlarge

Before Jenna came for her shoot she asked if it would be ok if her boyfriend came. Now a lot of photographers have very strong opinions on this, and mine is simple… as long as the model can be free to pose and be comfortable in front of them I don’t care if 40 people come along. It doesn’t affect how I work. Now I’ll probably catch some flack for that comment, but it’s true. I know a lot of photographers who won’t allow anyone else on their shoots, and that’s fine it’s their decision, but I really don’t see the point (unless of course that it is detrimental to the images).

click to enlarge

Some of my tests were done with people who had done some modeling before shooting with me. Jenna was not one of those people. She has never done anything like this before… ever. As the shoot moved forward she picked up all the little things extremely quickly and even started to move more on her own. She truly has a knack for it.

click to enlarge

She took the direction really well but also learned from how I was directing her and I was amazed at how quickly she picked everything up. We tried both studio and some stuff out of the studio with more of a natural light feel.

click to enlarge

Where I live the weather isn’t exactly what you want to be outside shooting in. So the majority of my work as of late has been in the studio or at indoor locations. Let’s just say I’m itching to get outside when warmer weather gets here. Often new models are intimidated by studio set-ups, whether it be all the lights or that they’re all alone with nothing else really around them. Jenna had no problem with anything I threw at her.

click to enlarge

Because of the wonderful bone structure and jawline she has, I really wanted to try some beauty style images. Please do keep in mind she is wearing a tube top in the following images.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

If I remember correctly this was one of longest test shoots… and the reason for that… I just couldn’t stop shooting. When I was shooting the last look (the yellow one) I was already thinking of how I wanted to shoot Jenna the next time. Then I realized maybe there wouldn’t be a next time.

click to enlarge

I forget sometimes that maybe the model won’t enjoy the shoot as much as I do or maybe they’ll think that it just isn’t for them. Lucky for me Jenna really enjoyed it and is looking forward to working together again. Phewf!

click to enlarge

If she had said she didn’t want to shoot again I would have of course tried to convince her otherwise… but I always respect a person’s decision. You can’t force people to do things because the work would suffer. Leading up to this shoot we had to re-schedule a few times and at one point I wasn’t 100% sure it would happen. Am I ever glad it did.

click to enlarge

Oh.. so remember I said she had asked if her boyfriend could come along. Well he did, and he was great. They’re a great couple, and we all had a blast laughing and chatting throughout the day. At the end of the shoot I took a few images of the 2 of them together.

click to enlarge

So I guess the 2 of them made their modelling debut on my blog 🙂

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

