Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

click to enlarge - model is represented by City Models

When you look at photographs, how often do you think about the work that was put into it? People look at images and see it only as the 2 dimensional image on their screen. They may look at the model, the lighting, the composition etc etc… But I would say its rare people think about how much work went into making that image and how many people contributed to make it what it is. While it isn’t overly important to know how much work went into an image, the only thing that really matters is the final product, I want to give you some insight into how I work.

click to enlarge

When I do a shoot I always prefer to have a full team if I can. Model(s), hair stylist, makeup artist, clothing stylist etc… I believe in working very collaboratively with everyone involved and, in my experience, I create better images that way.

click to enlarge

I definitely have final say when it comes to my work but I encourage ideas from the people I am working with. Most of my best work has come from these type of shoots. When the wheels are rolling and everyone is creatively working towards a common goal, it makes it much more enjoyable and that shows in the final product.

click to enlarge - model is represented by City Models

click to enlarge

The images in this shoot were shot during a trip to Halifax where I shot some images for a hair competition. None of the hair competition images are shown here though. The hair stylist decided that the overall look wasn’t what she was going for & decided not to enter them in the end.

click to enlarge - model of the right, in both images, is represented by City Models

One of the hardest things about shooting for a hair competition is that typically the images can’t be seen ahead of time. So I’ve had to keep these to myself for quite a while.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

For this shoot we had 2 models, a hairstylist, a makeup artist and a clothing stylist/designer. Most of the pieces used in this shoot are part of a collection by Sebastian Couture (designed by Sebastian Blagdon). I encourage everyone involved in the shoot to give their input, kind of the “two heads are better than one” approach. Although on this shoot it was 5 heads.

click to enlarge

When working as a team I find it very important to let everyone involved speak their mind and give input when they feel it. Not all photographers work this way but it is my most preferred way to work. In this industry everyone has strengths and weaknesses and being able to combine everyone’s strength’s, in my opinion, makes for stronger images in the end.

click to enlarge - model is represented by City Models

On big fashion shoots you see huge teams of people working together towards a common goal. When I first started working in this industry I didn’t really understand why there were SO many people present. I totally understand why now. Not only can you work in a more collaborative way, but having more than one set of eyes present can really help the photographer not miss the little things.

click to enlarge - model is represented by City Models

You have to set that intention from the beginning though, so everyone feels comfortable sharing their ideas. At the same time you have to be strong when you think something may not work. Remember that, as the photographer, it is your name on the images. It’s your images you’re putting out into the world.

click to enlarge - model is represented by City Models

I realize not everyone has access to big teams of people during their shoots. So for your next shoot invite a few friend’s whose opinions you trust and encourage them to give you input pre-shoot and during the shoot. Make sure you listen to these opinions and consider how it can help your final images. Don’t be a photographic dictator.

Hair: Jane Rudolph

Makeup: Craig MacMillan

Clothing Design and Styling – Sebastian Couture (Sebastian Couture)

One of the models is represented by: City Models

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

