Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

click to enlarge

Well hello there, it’s been a while. I’ve been busy shooting and editing for the last little while (mostly editing and trying to get caught up), so you’ll have to excuse my absence. This post will probably be my least wordy post in a LONG time. This was my first conceptual shoot I had really ever done. I had been really paying attention to editorials and spreads in magazines and things don’t get published without some sort of theme. We kept it more simple where this was really my first attempt…

click to enlarge

We went with a white to black theme. The clothes would flow in those tones and I wanted to try and mirror that in the lighting somewhat. Use more open lighting with the white outfits and more dramatic lighting with the black ones (but not too dramatic).

click to enlarge

Martine (the model) was someone who I had wanted to work with for quite a while. Little did I know she would be so much fun to work with. I’ve been fortunate in my photo career that I’ve pretty well always worked with wonderful people. It makes the experience and the images SO much better.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

So… from here on out I’ll leave you with the images. I’m looking forward to shooting quite a bit more conceptual work over the next little while (I’m in the midst of editing one now). You have to shoot the work you want to be shooting in the future and my portfolio needs more conceptual work, period. It needs to tell a story. I’m planning on taking each shoot even further and pushing myself beyond where I’ve ever pushed. Enjoy!

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

Credits:

Model: Martine (City Models)

Hair: Francine Benoit

Makeup: Sarah-Jane Bastarache

Styling: Sarah Duquette

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

