Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

click to enlarge

One of the makeup artists I used to work with regularly (Nicola Jefferis) moved to Halifax towards the end of the summer last year. She is an absolute blast to work with and I was quite sad when she told me. We had worked together a fair amount and I always loved working with her. Our styles worked well together and she had become very good at knowing what I wanted for a shoot without me having to say much. We became good friends in the process as well and we’ve kept in good contact since. So when she sent me a message saying she was going to be home for a week, and wanted to know if I could put together a couple of shoots, I was obviously rather excited.

click to enlarge

Can you keep a secret?… I really didn’t have time to shoot any personal work while she was home, I was busy with client work and back-logged editing, but I couldn’t say no. Shhhhh, don’t tell her. I had a day open up so I called a model for a spur-of-the-moment… no, that’s not the right word…. impromtu shoot.

click to enlarge

I had worked with Sophie (the model) many times and I was very happy she wasn’t busy that evening. We didn’t really have a plan coming in to the shoot and just wanted to shoot for fun and hopefully to have images to add to our portfolios.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

We ended up doing 2 shoots the week she was home (the other one is in the process of being edited) and then I went to Halifax a couple of weeks later and she did the makeup for 2 shoots down there.

click to enlarge

In this industry I hear horror stories all the time about how photographers don’t get along with the people they work with. I guess I’ve been lucky that there have been very few instances (maybe 1 or 2) where this has happened to me.

click to enlarge

Generally I try and stay in good contact with all the people I work with. Not to say that you always need to become good friends with them, but I think it’s a good thing to develop a good working relationship (what would we do without the internet?). I was able to pull a couple of shoots together while she was home and she was able to help me on my shoots when I went down there. This industry is all about give AND take. You can’t expect to always be taking and that people will want to continue working with you. It has to go both ways.

Myself, Sophie & Nicola

Credits:

Model: Sophie

Makeup: Nicola Jefferis: links- Facebook Page & Website

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

