Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

click to enlarge

I travelled to Halifax a little while ago to do some portfolio work with a few models and makeup artists. I wanted to get there around January but didn’t make it down until considerably later. Lately my personal work tends to get pushed back further than I’d like, but at least I’m still getting to do it. I always have a great experience when I go to Halifax, I just love that city.

click to enlarge

Since this trip I have decided to scale back my personal shoots. I always go through a cycle where I shoot a bunch of work and then take forever to edit them. I overload myself with personal work then I tend to get busy with client work. It’s something that has happened to me a few times and I’ve made a decision that I need to scale back the amount of shooting I do. This will allow me to better be able to manage my workload.

click to enlarge

These images are from my first shoot in Halifax, with Wendy (model) and makeup artist Heidi Deboer. These were shot right in my brother-in-law’s backyard.

click to enlarge

The first time I saw this backyard I knew I wanted to try and do a shoot there and I thought the offset of the location with the wardrobe worked very well.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

We then moved on to the second location with a bit of a change in the makeup. The light was dropping pretty quickly so I shot some natural light shots before it got too dark. I’m loving natural light more and more these days. Using a reflector to pop some light back in to the eyes can really make it pop too.

click to enlarge

There are aspects of shooting in natural light that I love, but also some I don’t love as much. Being able to control the light with flashes is something I really like as natural light can be somewhat unpredictable at times.

click to enlarge

Once the light got to be where I needed it, I switched on the flash. I slapped on my 75″ umbrella and shot as quick as I could, as the light fades quickly around that time.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

I was lucky that my good friend Sasha (Kravetz Photographics) was in Cuba for a destination wedding and he let me babysit his Elinchrom strobe & battery pack. I don’t think my little Nikon Speedlights would have given me enough power. Not to mention I was able to use my huge umbrella with it.

click to enlarge

Credits:

Model: Wendy

Hair and Makeup: Heidi Deboer

Assistant: Jenn Gregory

A battery pack for my strobes is next up on the purchase list as I love the ability to use my big lights and modifiers on location.

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

a couple BTS pics by Jenn Gregory (taken with her Blackberry)

