Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

click to enlarge

I had planned to make this trip to Halifax a little bit of a vacation and a little bit of shooting. Well… it ended up being 90% shooting/meetings and 10% vacation. Now don’t think I’m complaining though, I love, love, love what I do. To say I work a lot may be a bit of an understatement and when I have people say “oh gee, I’m sorry to hear you work so much” I always tell them not to feel bad for me because I love what I do. I choose to work as much as I do and love every minute of it. This was my second of 3 shoots while I was there and the good ol’ Halifax weather decided to mess with me on this day…

click to enlarge

This day started quite a bit earlier than I had planned. I picked a horrible time to come to Halifax, apparently, as all the busses were on strike… but I wasn’t going to let that damper my shoots. I left my hotel at about 8:30 or 9am to head about 30-45 minutes away to pick up the model and on the way back, pick up the hair stylist.

click to enlarge

That damn strike made things a little more difficult for scheduling but I was happy to go pick people up as I was extremely excited to shoot. I had planned to do most of my shooting outside that day… but the weather was being pretty iffy and I knew I would have to have another plan very soon.

click to enlarge

While hair and makeup was being done it went from sunny, to raining, to snow, and back to sun, you’ve got to love the maritime canadian weather! I didn’t have a backup plan for an indoor location, which is something I’ll definitely never do again… it just makes things too stressful.

click to enlarge

We went outside for the first look, and towards the end it started to snow and it was getting pretty cold. I had spoken to the manager at the hotel (The Atlantica) about the possibility of shooting somewhere in there and she said she would check into it for me.

click to enlarge

I knew I couldn’t shoot anywhere that people would be and hotels usually aren’t overly keen on letting photographers set up lights and shoot without purchasing a permit. Unfortunately my budget for the weekend wouldn’t allow me to pay for a permit.

click to enlarge

So while the hair and makeup was being done for the second look I went down to see if the manager was able to make any progress. To my surprise I was greeted by her when I stepped off the elevator and she handed me a key to the executive boardroom. Lucky for me the room wasn’t being used that day and the manager was extremely nice and went out of her way to get the room for me.

click to enlarge

I was very nice when asking about using a space, I explained the type of shots I was going to be doing and handed her a business card. If you’re ever looking to do something like that you have to be extremely professional and polite. Being prepared with business cards is always a necessity as it gives them confidence in you being a professional.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

We shot the entire last look in there and my 3rd shoot (blog post coming) was shot there as well. I was very lucky to get the room as the weather was awful the rest of the day. You’re probably asking why I didn’t just shoot in my room, and I could have, but I didn’t want that “hotel room” look. It’s being done a lot these days and I just wanted something a bit different.

click to enlarge

Tamara was wonderful to work with as always, I think this was our 3rd shoot together. We always have a blast at the shoots and she makes my job much easier. I also worked with a new hairstylist for the first time on this shoot. Her work was fabulous. When I gave her a little direction for the style I wanted she would put her own creative twist on it, and I was extremely happy with the work she did.

Credits:

Model: Tamara (City Models)

Hair: Rebecca Graham (Facebook Page Tumblr)

Makeup Nicola Jefferis (Website, Facebook Page)

Stylist: Sarah Duquette

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

