Tags

, , , , , , , ,

click to enlage

About a month and a half ago I was sitting in my studio editing and my landlord popped in. He wanted to tell me about a band that was playing in the restaurant/bar on the main floor of the building I’m in (it’s a Gastropub to use the proper term). He asked me if I was going and that if I wasn’t I should strongly consider changing my mind. I was in the midst of what ended up being around 70hrs of editing over 4 days, I was exhausted. I was leaving for Toronto in a couple of days and was trying to get as much done as I could before I left. But I figured I’d grab my camera and head down to The Tide & Boar and see what this band was all about… 

click to enlarge

This post (and images) is a little different than what you’re used to seeing from me. But I am a huge music lover (as many are), I used to play in a band myself and spent the better part of my life from the ages of 14-21 playing guitar before photography came into my life. I’ve been shooting more and more music related things lately and I love being able to mesh my true love (photography) with music.

click to enlarge

Tyler Bryant & The Shakedown is a band from Nashville. They play straight up blues & rock & roll. Growing up I was always really into the blues, with Stevie Ray Vaughan being one of my favourite musicians of all time. When I walked in, the band had pretty well just gotten on stage and were about to get started.

click to enlarge

The band is made up of 4 guys in their early 20s. So I thought to myself “I’ll stick around for a few songs, shoot some images of these kids, then go home to bed” because I planned to be back at the studio at 8:30 the next morning… Boy was I wrong.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

To say that Tyler Bryant is a “good” guitar player would be a HUGE understatement, the kid is unreal. The list of guys he’s shared the stage with reads like a list of guitar gods. Including a stint opening up for the legendary Jeff Beck. After the first song I was asking a few people I knew at the show who this guy was, what his story was and how old he was. Well you can go to his website to see who he is and what his story is…. & he’s 21.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

The other guitarist in the band is quite the player himself (he’s also the son of Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford). The band as a whole was absolutely fantastic, probably one of the best live shows I have ever seen. The energy and connection they have with the crowd was 100mph, non-stop, for the entire show.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

I stayed for the entire show and shot a good amount of images. I also put my camera down for a bit and just sat back and enjoyed the show.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

The fact that I almost missed out on this show is quite unsettling, so a huge thanks to Chad for coming up and letting me know about it. I don’t think I would ever get into shooting live shows full-time, but it’s definitely fun to shoot something different from time to time. I’ve done some work with a few musicians lately for promo shots and album covers and I absolutely love it. Honestly, photographing people is what I love. But I’ll shoot a live show here and there if the opportunity presents itself.

click to enlarge

The Tide and Boar is an absolutely fantastic place to see live shows. The sound in there is extremely good and the layout is exactly what you would want when going to see a show. If you follow me on Twitter you know I love to eat there. They have a great thing going on with their unbelievable food and the bands they bring in. So if you’re in Moncton NB get your butt down there and check it out.

click to enlarge

I left the bar at about 1:30, got home around 2:00. And for those of you wondering… Yes, I did make it to the studio for 8:30 the next morning…. & I edited for 14 or 15hrs. Needless to say I didn’t have trouble sleeping that night.

To check out Tyler Bryant & The Shakedown follow these links:

Website, Facebook, Twitter

Check out Tide & Boar Gastropub at the following links:

Website, Facebook, Twitter

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

