Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

click to enlarge

These images are from a test shoot I did while the prep was being done for the last shoot I posted… wow I made that sound more confusing than I had to… anyway… Alysha is good friends with a model I work with regularly (which is how I found her) and I think she has an absolutely wonderful look. We shot some fairly simple looks in simple locations, and that’s how I like to do the test shoots. I have various reasons for this…

click to enlarge

Mostly it’s because the people I photograph for the test shoots don’t have a lot of experience in front of the camera and I don’t want to overwhelm them. It also allows me to focus more on the posing in the images as I tend to give much more guidance during tests.

click to enlarge

Alysha caught on to the poses I gave her extremely quickly. Towards the end of the shoot I was actually saying very little.

click to enlarge

So why do I call them “test shoots”? Well I do these shoots to test new models/lighting/poses etc. Mostly I am testing the models though.

click to enlarge

You eventually see models, from my test shoots, pop up in my editorial and conceptual work. I always prefer to work with models that I worked with in the past for these types of shoots. It also allows me to see what type of shoots that the model I’m testing will work in.

click to enlarge

Hair: Francine Benoit

Makeup: Nicola Jefferis (Facebook Page)

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

