Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

click to enlarge

A few months ago we had a full crew in the studio. 2 models, a 3 man video crew, a makeup artist, hair stylist, an aesthetician, and myself. We had met a month or so before that to talk about doing a makeup and hair tutorial video, that I would shoot stills for. The video should be released very soon, at which time I’ll release the images. While these images are from the same day, they are not from the video shoot and are a completely different style.

click to enlarge

The idea was that one look would be done on each model and the entire process would be filmed. The final product will be a tutorial video talking about how the hair and makeup is done as well as some scenes of me shooting.

click to enlarge

While the process was being done though, I really had nothing to do. I took some bts images, but nothing more. I was going to be shooting studio looks once the tutorial was complete and my lighting was already all set up. So I decided that since there were 2 models there and they could only work on one at a time, I would shoot extra stuff after I was done shooting my studio stuff.

click to enlarge

Martine (in the photo above) and Jess (in the photo below) were great and allowed me take more time with them than we had planned.

click to enlarge

Once they were done their studio session we went for a walk downtown, and we were able to find some great light. Martine’s hair was pinned up for the tutorial video and we took it out for these shots. A couple of preview images from the studio session are posted on my Facebook page, in the wall photos.

click to enlarge

I wasn’t really going for anything specific with these shots, I just wanted to take advantage of having 2 wonderful models with hair and makeup fully done. If you follow my work, on Facebook or on here, you may have noticed I shoot quite a bit. I shoot at any opportunity I get, as I believe it is the best way to continuously improve.

click to enlarge

I had already blocked off the entire day for the video shoot anyway, so I figured I might as well shoot as much as I can. Now when I say “shoot as much as you can”, I don’t just mean shoot aimlessly. You have to always be assessing your work and learning from it.

click to enlarge

You have to be pushing yourself to try new things, and always moving your work forward. For example: I have been putting a lot of effort into my natural light work for the last little while. I found that was something that was lacking in my work and so I began studying light, how it falls, reflects etc. Pushing that part of my work forward.

click to enlarge

Models: Martine & Jess, both represented by: City Models

Makeup: Sarah-Jane Bastarache (Facebook Page)

Hair: Edgar Rojas

Aesthetician: Marie-Pier Maltais

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

