Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

click to enlarge

So this was the shoot that came right after the last post. I had done a test shoot with Jenna a while ago and had been really wanting to do a full shoot with her. So we set this up. We intended to shoot more looks than we did, but we had a few things happen that were out of our control. You see, I knew where I wanted to shoot, unfortunately on the way to the location (around 5:00) we hit a pile of construction. We were roughly 30-45 later getting to the location than intended. Which meant I had way less light than planned….. but we ran with it.

click to enlarge

I shot entirely natural light for this shoot, as well as some artificial light, but no flash. As you may have noticed, I’ve been shooting A LOT of natural light for the last little while. The reason for this is I found that it was something greatly lacking in my work.

click to enlarge

I began studying light, studying techniques, and have gotten to a point where I am just as comfortable shooting with natural light as I am shooting flash.

click to enlarge

While I love both, being able to decide which type of lighting will best suit a shoot is something I’m still in the process of perfecting. But, for this shoot, I knew I wanted to shoot natural. Because of the clothing and looks we planned and the location, I knew it would lend better to natural light.

click to enlarge

As you can see in the image above (and the next couple) we lost light extremely quickly. I had to crank my ISO on my camera and do what I could with the light I had.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

While we lost light very quickly, we were lucky to have extremely beautiful light for the whole shoot. It got to the point where I just couldn’t shoot anymore because it just got too dark….

click to enlarge

Now, if you’re reading this and have shot with me or have been at one of my shoots, you know I have trouble stopping. I always want to keep shooting. I just love it so much and once I get going I find it extremely hard to stop.

click to enlarge

Across the street from where we were shooting there was a church. I noticed lights outside the church that were illuminating it in a very interesting way, so headed over there to shoot something completely different.

click to enlarge

Because of this shoot, I have a craving to get out and do some more night shoots using only artificial light. I absolutely love the feel of the images shot in this way, and I’m looking forward to exploring it more.

click to enlarge

From the last time Jenna and I shot together she had improved quite a bit and she is always an extreme pleasure to work with. I’m looking forward to the next time we get to work together.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

Model: Jenna

Hair and Makeup: Bonnie Dilag

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

