Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

click to enlarge

A little while ago I received an email from Peggi Lepage, who I had shot for before, asking me if I would mind photographing someone she had scouted in Halifax. As luck would have it, I was already planning on heading down there for something else. So I booked a shoot with Emma, not really knowing what kind of shoot we would do, and not really knowing her experience at all. My wife and I headed to Halifax for an overnight trip and I was looking forward to shooting someone I didn’t already know (which I had been doing a lot), I was not disappointed…

click to enlarge

Emma had little to no experience before our shoot, which I was quite surprised to find out afterwards as she moved extremely well. I was staying at my brother-in-law’s house so we decided to just shoot around there.

click to enlarge

All these images were shot within about 20-30ft of his door. In the past when I looked for locations I used to look for these huge grandiose spots, something big and amazing. As I started to watch behind the scenes videos of other photographers I noticed that they would use these small sections of locations. I started to adapt this to my own work.

click to enlarge

Now, with that said, his place did have a pretty cool backyard. They had also just built a deck that lended well to a backdrop, gave shade, and created beautiful light.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

Because of the colour of her top (in the following images) I wanted to use the garage door as a backdrop, I find those 2 colours go together very well. There was extremely harsh light at the time, which created interesting shadow.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

The above image, and the ones that follow, were completely based on a suggestion Emma made. She thought shooting in the entranceway outside the house would be an interesting spot, she was absolutely right.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

I love when I work with people who have creative input and are really into the shoot. I worked with Emma a couple of weeks after this shoot and it was very similar. She is very focused and dedicated during the shoot and is always looking for ways to improve the next shot.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

Model: Emma @ Peggi Lepage

Makeup: Nicola Jefferis (Facebook Page)

Styling: Sarah Duquette

*subscribe to the blog, at the top on the right, to be notified of new posts by email*

