Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

Well, I was sitting at my desk, thinking “I should really post more work on my blog” and realized I never shared these images on here… These images are from a lookbook shoot I did for the extremely talented design duo Dreamboat Lucy. All the clothes and jewelry are designed and created by sisters Hilary and Louanna Murphy, who are from PEI. I absolutely love their pieces and love working for them so it’s a win/win for me! They made the trip to Moncton  for this shoot and all images were shot in my studio. Teaghan (the model) and I ventured outside to try and get some more images after we were done shooting the lookbook images but unfortunately the mosquitoes were extremely hungry that day and had a feast on us… so we didn’t get as much time as we would have liked. Go check out their site where the pieces from the lookbook are now for sale (check it out here). More images after the jump…

Traditionally, most lookbooks are shot in a very straight way… straight pose, straight on, turn to show the back, move on… This shoot I wanted to do something a little different, so once I knew we had the “straight” shots, we tried some other poses and I shot some tighter shots as well. About halfway through the shoot, the designers said “honestly, we’re liking these other shots way better than the straight stuff, so let’s keep doing that”. I still did end up shooting straight looks for everything (just to be safe) but put more emphasis on poses that weren’t so straight.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

I try to shoot tethered (camera connected to the computer) as often as I can and for this shoot I also had my iPad as a secondary display. I did this so that the designers could sit with it to see the images as they were shot. It allows me to have instant feedback from the client about what they think is working and what isn’t. This allowed them to see that they were liking what myself and the model were doing posing wise and to make the call, on set, to keep doing that. A few weeks ago I shot their FW14 lookbook and we shot practically no straight shots and played with posing a bit more and I think that decision came directly from this shoot.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

Hair: Melissa Duguay

Makeup: Bastarache Beauty

Model: Teaghan @ City Models

Designers: Dreamboat Lucy

*subscribe to the blog, above on the right, to be notified of new posts via email*

 

